aboutme

me


My name is Katie O'Rourke and I am twenty years old. I am currently in my sophomore year at Moravian College. I grew up in Hershey, Pennsylvania and attended Palmyra High School. I love the area where I grew up and plan to return there after I graduate. I have known that I wanted to be a teacher for a very long time.  I used to make my brothers play school with me when I was young and, fifteen years later, teaching is still what I like to do. I am now working toward a degree in Mathematics and a Secondary Education certificate.

bball


Besides being a student, I have many other roles at Moravian. I am involved in Residence Life and serve as a resident advisor in one of the dorms on campus. I am also a mathematics tutor and am currently helping several students with their studies on a daily basis. My favorite role that I have taken on is my role as a member of the Women's Basketball team. I have been playing basketball since I was in sixth grade and it has been a huge part of my life ever since. My athletic experience at Moravian has been wonderful, and I even got a chance to play in Austria, Germany, and the Czech Republic this past summer. Besides what we do on the court, we are also very active in the community. We have held numerous clinics, read at elementary schools, visited retirement homes, and have participated in supporting many great causes in this past year alone. We have also raised the most money out of all Division III colleges in the nation for the Kay Yow Breast Cancer Fund for the past three years. Community involvement is extremely important and it has been one of my most rewarding experiences while at Moravian.


family


Outside of school, I have many other hobbies. Watching and playing sports are two of my favorite things to do. I am a very big fan of the Philadelphia Phillies and Connecticut Basketball. I also like to read and listen to music in my spare time. Most of all, I like to relax and spend time with people I care about. I am very close with my parents, two older brothers, and grandparents, and I love spending time with my entire family.




backtohome