BIO210

Genetics

Fall 2013

Home

Objectives

Policies

Syllabus

Exams

Homework

Quizzes

Labs

Prof. Jones

TAs

Syllabus

Meeting number Date In-Class Background Reading
1 Mon., Aug. 26 organizational meeting
2 Wed., Aug. 28 overview
3 Fri., Aug. 30 DNA structure
Mon., Sept. 2 No Class (Labor Day)
4 Wed., Sept. 4 DNA replication
5 Fri., Sept. 6 prokaryotic transcription
6 Mon., Sept. 9 translation
7 Wed., Sept. 11 the genetic code
8 Fri., Sept. 13 chromosome structure
9 Mon., Sept. 16 DNA mutation
10 Wed., Sept. 18 DNA repair
11 Fri., Sept. 20 chromosomal mutations
12 Mon., Sept. 23 hour exam
13 Wed., Sept. 25 bacterial genetics
14 Fri., Sept. 27 bacterial & phage genetics
15 Mon., Sept. 30 basic Mendelian genetics
16 Wed., Oct. 2 probability, and χ-square tests
17 Fri., Oct. 4 mitosis & meiosis
18 Mon., Oct. 7 sex linkage
19 Wed., Oct. 9 genotypes & phenotypes
20 Fri., Oct. 11 gene interactions
Mon., Oct. 14 No Class (Fall Break)
21 Wed., Oct. 16 genetic linkage
22 Fri., Oct. 18 genetic recombination
23 Mon., Oct. 21 hour exam
24 Wed., Oct. 23 gene regulation I
25 Fri., Oct. 25 gene regulation II
26 Mon., Oct. 28 gene regulation III
27 Wed., Oct. 30 recombinant DNA technology
28 Fri., Nov. 1 transgenic organisms
29 Mon., Nov. 4 reverse genetics
30 Wed., Nov. 6 genomics
31 Fri., Nov. 8 organellar genetics
32 Mon., Nov. 11 developmental genetics
33 Wed., Nov. 13 quantitative genetics
34 Fri., Nov. 15 population genetics
35 Mon., Nov. 18 evolutionary genetics
36 Wed., Nov. 20 TBA
37 Fri., Nov. 22 hour exam
Mon., Nov. 25 No Class (Thanksgiving Break)
Wed., Nov. 27 No Class (Thanksgiving Break)
Fri., Nov. 29 No Class (Thanksgiving Break)
38 Mon., Dec. 2 reading the primary literature I
39 Wed., Dec. 4 reading the primary literature II
40 Fri., Dec. 6 reading the primary literature III
Tues., December 10
1:30 pm
FINAL EXAM

Life is fluid, so this syllabus is subject to change. I may have to change the syllabus to best help you learn about genetics, but this is certainly preferable to rigidly adhering to some timetable in lockstep. So come to class and you'll always know what's going on with the syllabus; changes will of course also be posted here, but you should be in class anyway!

For reasons that are not entirely clear to me, Moravian College considers this to be a personal page. Therefore it is incumbent on me to point out that "The views expressed on this page are the responsibility of the author, Christopher Jones (cjones-at-moravian-dot-edu) and do not necessarily reflect Moravian College or Moravian Theological Seminary policies or official positions."