GEP header

Syllabus

Meeting number Date In-Class Background Reading
1 Mon., Jan. 14 Organizational meeting
project overview
2 Wed., Jan. 16 discuss chapter 1
Consed orientation & exploration
text chapter 1
3 Mon., Jan. 21 no class (MLK Day)
4 Wed., Jan. 23 discuss chapter 2
work on finishing projects
text chapter 2
5 Mon., Jan. 28 work on finishing projects
6 Wed., Jan. 30 work on finishing projects
7 Mon., Feb. 4 discuss chapter 3
work on finishing projects
text chapter 3
8 Wed., Feb. 6 work on finishing projects
9 Mon., Feb. 11 discuss chapter 4
work on finishing projects
text chapter 4
10 Wed., Feb. 13 work on finishing projects
11 Mon., Feb. 18 work on finishing projects
12 Wed., Feb. 20 work on finishing projects
13 Mon., Feb. 25 discuss chapter 5
work on finishing projects
text chapter 5
14 Wed., Feb. 27 work on finishing projects
Mon., Mar. 4 No class (Spring Break)
Wed., Mar. 6 No class (Spring Break)
15 Mon., Mar. 11 discuss chapter 6
work on finishing projects
text chapter 6
16 Wed., Mar. 13 Finishing Project presentations
17 Mon., Mar. 18 discuss chapter 7
discuss annotation
text chapter 7
18 Wed., Mar. 20 work on annotation projects
19 Mon., Mar. 25 discuss chapter 8
work on annotation projects
text chapter 8
Wed., Mar. 27 work on annotation projects
20 Mon., Apr. 1 discuss chapter 9
work on annotation projects
text chapter 9
21 Wed., Apr. 3 work on annotation projects
22 Mon., Apr. 8 discuss chapter 10
work on annotation projects
text chapter 10
23 Wed., Apr. 10 work on annotation projects
24 Mon., Apr. 15 discuss chapter 11
work on annotation projects
text chapter 11
25 Wed., Apr. 17 work on annotation projects
26 Mon., Apr. 22 work on annotation projects
27 Wed., Apr. 24 Annotation Project presentations

Life is fluid, so this syllabus is subject to change. I may have to change the syllabus as the semester progresses, but this is certainly preferable to rigidly adhering to some timetable in lockstep. So come to class and you'll always know what's going on with the syllabus; changes will of course also be posted here, but you should be in class anyway!